EUSBSR in a nutshellEUSBSR Map 6

The European Union Strategy for the Baltic Sea Region (EUSBSR) is the first of the four Macro-regional Strategies in Europe. The Strategy is divided into three main objectives: saving the sea, connecting the region and increasing prosperity. Each objective relates to a wide range of policies and has an impact on the other objectives. The Strategy was approved by the European Council in 2009 following a communication from the European Commission which was revised in 2012.

Read the current zipAction Plan for an overview of the 14 Policy Areas and Actions for Strategy implementation.


The Strategy is an agreement between the Member States of the EU and the European Commission to strengthen cooperation between the countries bordering the Baltic Sea in order to meet the common challenges and to benefit from common opportunities facing the region.


The EU member states involved in the EUSBSR are Sweden, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Latvia, Lithuania and Poland. The EUSBSR implementation is coordinated in close contact with the European Commission and all relevant stakeholders, i.e. other member states, regional and local authorities, inter-governmental and non-governmental bodies.The Strategy is also welcoming cooperation with EU neighbouring countries (Iceland and Norway). 


Activities can be, for example, projects (single or grouped in clusters), processes, networks or platforms. Building on existing capacities is important and Policy Areas may continue to use the Flagship concept. However, it is important that the strategy remains open also for activities outside of established structures.

No new funding or institutions have been founded to support the implementation of the Strategy, and funding for operations under the Strategy is intended to come from existing financial instruments.



Subscribe for EUSBSR monthly newsletter for news and updates from the network.

Subscribe to our newsletter