2018 Tallinn


Opening and I Plenary The EU Cohesion Policy and the EUSBSR after 2020

Date, Time

Monday, 4 June, 13:30-15:30



How the strategy was conceived? Mr Matti Maasikas, Undersecretary of MFA of Estonia will interview President Toomas Hendrik Ilves, one of the authors of the EUSBSR idea


Opening statements

Mr Jüri Ratas, Prime Minister of Estonia 

H.E. Mr Māris Kučinskis, Prime Minister of Latvia 

H.E. Mr Saulius Skvernelis, Prime Minister of Lithuania 

H.EMr Jacek Czaputowicz, Foreign Minister of Poland 

Ms Corina Cretu, EU Commissioner for Regional Policy 



Mr Alexander Stubb, Vice-President of the EIB, one of the authors of the EUSBSR idea

Mr Konrad Szymański, Secretary of State for European Affairs, Poland 

Dr Kai Böhme, Director, Spatial Foresight

Mr Erik Bergkvist, President of Västerbotten Region 



Mr Johannes Tralla, Correspondent, Estonian Public Broadcasting



The focus of the 9th EUSBSR Annual Forum is the BSR post-2020 – how the EU Cohesion Policy and the EU Strategy for the BSR can adapt to future challenges. The first plenary session has the principal role in elaborating on the main theme. After the European Commission’s proposal for the new MFF was presented the serious work started in regard to the development of the EU and its policies and financial instruments for the post-2020 period. Our discussion will focus in particular on the future of the EU Cohesion policy. The programming process for the new period is important for Macro-regional Strategies to achieve better integration with EU funds and instruments. The main results of the ‘EU Strategy for the Baltic Sea Region beyond 2020’ study prepared by Spatial Foresight will be presented.


Panel coordinator

Mr Raul Mälk, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Estonia

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Updated 30.05.2018