2018 Tallinn


Date, Time

Monday, 4 June, 17.30-19.00 @ Hall D



Mr Jens Kurnol, Head of Unit European Spatial and Urban Development, Federal Institute for Research on Building, Urban Affairs and Spatial Development, Germany



Mr Tālis Linkaits, Head of Secretariat, VASAB (Vision and Strategies around the Baltic Sea)

Mr Riku Varjopuro, Head of Sustainable Use of Marine Areas Unit, Finnish Environment Institute

Dr Graham Butt, Head of Renewable Energy Unit, Ministry of Energy, Infrastructure and Digitalization Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Germany

Dr Matthias Mossbauer, Project Manager, Ministry of Energy, Infrastructure and Digitalisation, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Germany

Ms Tuuliki Kasonen, Estonian Wind Power Association, Estonia

Mr Hannu Koponen, Development Manager, Regional Council of Central Finland



Joint spatial planning perspectives for increasing the share of renewable energy in the BSR will form a strong contribution to cohesion policy and smart, sustainable and inclusive growth after 2020. Currently there is no joint transnational consensus regarding the definition of spatial planning criteria for defining the most suitable places and growth areas for renewable energy (this being the aim of the BEA-APP project). Taking into account important pillars in the planning of renewable energies (economy, society, conflict and transnational cohesion), the seminar will present examples of land-based spatial planning and MSP. In the second part of the seminar, the panel will discuss how capacity in BSR countries can be improved to steer the growth of renewable energy production and use in a spatially compatible manner. Two major questions will be discussed in regard to territorial cohesion through spatial and energy planning: what major challenges have we met, and how far can we go? The results of the seminar will be integrated in the outcomes of the EUSBSR horizontal action Spatial Planning flagship project BEA-APP.



Mr Matthias Mossbauer, Ministry of Energy, Infrastructure and Digitalisation, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Updated 14.05.2018